Historic Preservation Commission

A Historic Preservation Commission is hereby created, consisting of seven members. Of the membership, if available in the community, one shall be a registered architect; one shall be a historian; one shall be a licensed real estate broker; one shall be a council member; and three shall be citizen members, one of which must reside within a historic district. Each member shall have, to the highest extent practicable, a known interest in historic preservation. The mayor shall appoint the commissioners subject to confirmation by the common council. Of the initial members so appointed, two shall serve a term of one year, two shall serve a term of two years, and three shall serve a term of three years. Thereafter, the term for each member shall be three years.